Daube’s Cakes and Bakery – Rochester, MN

Location:Daube’s Bakery

1310 5th Place Northwest

Rochester, MN 55901‎

(507) 289-3095

Open 7 days a week.

Daube’s Bakery also includes a lovely patio!

If you are one of the 2 million visitors to Rochester this year you will need to find a few good spots to eat.  Over the past few years I have done business in Rochester once a month and usually arrive just before breakfast.  As you can imagine someone like me must find a good place to get some food on my face! While Rochester offers many good eateries there is something about a place that is local and everything is made from scratch.

Food On My Face recommends visiting any one of Cynthia Daube’s creations: Jasper’s Alsation Bistro and Wine Bar, Daube’s Down Under, or Daube’s Cakes and Bakery.   Last month I had the opportunity to visit with Cynthia at her cake and bakery location and I recall her saying something like “I came to Rochester 29 years ago back when I was still sweet!”.  After talking with her for 30 minutes I can tell that even after all these years she is still just as sweet! It is obvious that she cares about the product her team creates each day. As a result her restaurants have been a real service to this community for what has almost been 3 decades!  If you get a chance to peak in Cynthia’s office you will be inspired by her library of cookbooks which likely help support the diverse selection of flavors and products.  This location offers French style breads and quiches but you will also find Cynthia’s Polish heritage showing up in the kolaches and pączkis.  A common theme among all their food is that they are very creative, from scratch, and use real ingredients, and of course real delicious!

Popular seller’s: Carrot Cake, Chocolate Sundae Cake (pictures show the personal sizes, but you can also order regular size cakes)

Signature item: Lemon Rosemary Cake. Herbal infusion added directly into the hot sugar syrup. I don’t have a picture of this item but keep it in mind.

I usually try one of their quiches which includes a side of fruit and slice of baguette.  Price: about $8

Quiche with a side of fruit and slice of baguette

No need to use a napkin this time, gotta keep that Food On My Face!

Tags: , , ,

Categories: French Cuisine, Minnesota Regional, My Travels, Polish Cuisine

Subscribe

Connect with us on any of our social profiles below.

No comments yet.

Leave a comment